BTOG Board of Trustees

John Edwards is Chair of the Board of Trustees.  He is Consultant Thoracic Surgeon at the Northern General Hospital in Sheffield.
David Dunlop is Consultant Medical Oncologist at the Beatson West of Scotland Cancer Centre and Clinical Director of Specialist Oncology Services and Clinical Haematology for the West of Scotland.
Martin Grange is a retired MD of a pharmaceutical company.
Sara Hiom is Director of Early Diagnosis and Health Professional Engagement at Cancer Research UK.
Chris Kerr is a retired tax inspector.
Michael Peake is Honorary Consultant and Professor of Respiratory Medicine at the University of Leicester, Clinical Lead for Early Diagnosis at National Cancer Analysis and Registration Service (NCRAS), Public Health England and Clinical Director at the Centre for Cancer Outcomes at the University College London Hospitals (UCLH) Cancer Collaborative.

BTOG Steering Committee

Steering Committee Chair: Professor Sanjay Popat 

Professor Sanjay Popat is Consultant Thoracic Medical Oncologist at the Royal Marsden Hospital and Professor of Thoracic Oncology at the Institute of Cancer Research. Professor Popat has published in the fields of genetics, therapeutic biomarkers and medical oncology. He has been awarded nationally and internationally competitive prizes for his research, in addition to 4 research fellowships. He has published over 150 papers and is an active member of the EORTC Lung Group, has been elected to the Foundation Council of ETOP and is past chair of the UK NCRI Lung Cancer CSG Advanced Diseases Subgroup. Professor Popat joined the BTOG Steering Committee in 2010 and was elected Chair of the Steering Committee in 2013.

Steering Committee Vice Chair: Dr Tom Newsom-Davis

Dr Tom Newsom-Davis is a consultant in medical oncology at Chelsea and Westminster Hospital, London, where he specialises in thoracic malignancies. He has been a member of the BTOG Steering Committee for the past 2 years, and until recently was part of the National Cancer Research Institute Lung Group, and led the RM Partners Cancer Vanguard lung pathway.

Dr Newsom-Davis is actively involved in clinical research, and has presented his work at a number of national and international meetings. He has been an invited lecturer for various organisations including BTOG, the Royal College of Physicians, International Association for the Study of Lung Cancer, British Medical Association and the Association of Cancer Physicians. In 2015, his work was awarded the Macmillan Innovation Excellence Award.




Job Title

Place of Work


  Sanjay Agrawal Respiratory Consultant Respiratory Intensivist University Hospitals of Leicester NHS Trust Leicester
  Samreen Ahmed Medical Oncology Professor, Consultant in Medical Oncology University Hospitals of Leicester NHS Trust Leicester
  Cindy Billingham Research Professor of Biostatistics and Director of Statistics Cancer Research UK Trials Unit, University of Birmingham Birmingham
  Richard Booton Respiratory Lead Lung Cancer Clinician & Chair, Thoracic Oncology Board, GM Clinical Lead for Lung Cancer Screening Manchester Thoracic Oncology Centre North West Lung Centre & University Hospital of South Manchester Manchester
Mat Callister Respiratory Consultant Respiratory Physician St James's University Hospital Leeds
  Matthew Evison Respiratory Consultant Physician in Respiratory Medicine (Thoracic Oncology) North West Lung Centre & University of Manchester Manchester
  Jackie Fenemore Nursing Lung Clinical Nurse Specialist The Christie Hospital NHS Trust NLCFN Representative Manchester
David Gilligan Clinical Oncology Consultant Oncologist & Associate Lecturer University of Cambridge - Cambridge University Hospitals NHS Trust Cambridge
Tom Haswell Advocacy Advocate Glasgow
  Matthew Hatton Clinical Oncology Consultant and Honorary Professor in Clinical Oncology, Chair NCRI Lung CSG Weston Park Hospital Sheffield
  Sam Janes Respiratory Professor of Respiratory Medicine and Head of Respiratory Research Department University College London London
  Alan Kirk Surgery Consultant Thoracic Surgeon West of Scotland Regional Heart & Lung Centre Scotland
Barry Laird Palliative Medicine Senior Lecturer and Consultant in Palliative Medicine University of Edinburgh and Edinburgh Cancer Centre & St Columba's Hospice Scotland
  Jason Lester Clinical Oncology Consultant Clinical Oncologist Velindre Cancer Centre Wales
Fiona McDonald Clinical Oncology Consultant Thoracic Clinical Oncologist The Royal Marsden NHS Foundation Trust London
Angeles Montero-Fernandez Pathology Cardiothoracic Consultant Histopathologist Manchester University Hospital Manchester
Tom Newsom-Davis (SC Vice Chair) Medical Oncology Consultant Medical Oncologist Chelsea & Westminster Hospital London
  Sanjay Popat (SC Chair) Medical Oncology Consultant Medical Oncologist Royal Marsden Hospital London
  Janette Rawlinson Advocacy Advocate W.Midlands
Josie Roberts Nursing Macmillan Lung Nurse Specialist Rotherham NHS Foundation Trust S. Yorkshire
  James Spicer Medical Oncology Professor of Experimental Cancer Medicine and Consultant in Medical Oncology King's College London Guy's and St Thomas' NHS Foundation Trust London
  Denis Talbot Medical Oncology Professor, Consultant Medical Oncologist University of Oxford and Churchill Hospital Oxford

BTOG Executive


Gina Stevens
Executive AssistantGina joined the team in September 2018 as Executive Assistant and is the first point of contact for BTOG.  She has extensive secretarial and administrative experience working at Glenfield Hospital, Leicester for 18 years - 11 of these in Thoracic Surgery as a Senior Medical Secretary.  Gina is very committed to supporting BTOG in its work to improve outcomes for patients with thoracic malignancies.
Dawn Mckinley
Senior Executive Officer (SEO)Dawn took up the role for BTOG in 2002. Until 2014 Dawn was also the Operational Manager for Mesothelioma UK and is now a Trustee of Mesothelioma UK. Dawn’s earlier professional background included marketing, PA and VAT accountancy. Just prior to starting at BTOG, Dawn worked in Sydney, Australia for 2 years as a VAT Consultant. Dawn is passionate about her work for BTOG as Senior Executive Officer and in her trustee role for Mesothelioma UK and supporting the aims and objectives of both organisations as they work to improve outcomes for patients with thoracic malignancies.

BTOG Associates

Communications Team: Communications and website services are provided by Sandstar Communications.

Conference Provider: Our Annual Conference is managed by Venues World.

Accountant: Accountancy services are provided by Newby Castleman Chartered Accountants